BSAVA Awards - Woodrow Award

This award is presented for contributions to the advancement of small animal medicine by a qualified veterinarian. This means all aspects of medicine, including but not limited to, internal medicine, cardiology, dermatology, oncology and medical aspects of neurology, ophthalmology, diagnostic imaging and exotics (NTCA).

Make your nominations for 2024 now


BSAVA Woodrow Award winner 2023 - Dr Emi Barker

2023 Winner – Dr Emi Barker BSc(hons) BVSc(hons) PhD DipECVIM-CA MRCVS

Dr Emi Barker was one of the first cohort of Veterinary Pathology intercalators at the Royal Veterinary College. Emi started her research career working with Professor Joe Brownlie and colleagues at the RVC. She completed her residency in Small Animal Medicine at Bristol, gaining her Diploma in 2016, and now works as a referral clinician at Langford Vets. Dr Barker has won the Woodrow Award for her molecular studies of haemoplasma infection and research into the diagnosis and treatment of FIP.